Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

New years

on January 6, 2015

The New Year is here.  Each year it seems to take me forever to transition to putting the new year down when I have to date something.  But this year in anticipation of 2015, I have jumped ahead a little early.  Needless to say people were a little confused when I submitted an expense report for December 2015 :-/  Oops!

New Years comes and goes so quickly.  Sometimes I am genuinely surprised that I am exactly the same on January 2nd as I was on December 30th. I must be really excited to see what is in store for this next year. 2014 was a good one.  You will be missed.

Some highlights from 2014 are

: -Lots and Lots of coffee (seriously, I really think I have a problem)

-Chicago!  Awesome people and A great city

-Finishing my first year at NIU with Cru

-Seven fun weddings… Yes, I said 7!

-A Cubs Game

-Lots of Travel

-New Friends

-Better fitness

My Favorite Album of 2014:  1989 Taylor Swift and Ben Rector

Favorite Book: Kitchen House by Kathleen Grisson

Favorite Movie: Annie

Craziest memory:  Getting snowed in the house for 3 days with waaaaaay too much snow and cold outside

It was a fun year with some great people! But don’t be fooled, it was also one of my most challenging years yet.  There were a lot of tears, a lot of conflict, and a lot of fear.  I end the year with not much more certainty or direction that I began.  But I also end with a deeper knowledge that God is in control.  He has a plan, and He doesn’t need to run that by me for approval.  While there have been times that I doubted, I know with more assurance than ever before that He loves me.  And a much deeper knowledge that I do NOT deserve it. And that folks, makes 2014 a huge success!

I’m not one for New Year’s Resolutions normally.  But I do have areas that I want to grow in.  The biggest thing I want to work on is to live a life of gratitude.  To live in the moment and see the blessings around me.  To learn to be content with my circumstances.

Also, my goal is to drink more water and less coffee (this makes me sad). And to get more sleep.  And maybe less dependent on technology. (Facebook and instagram)

What are highlights from your year?  What are your hopes for 2015?

**Linking up here today and here

tuesdaytalk

2 responses to “New years

  1. Elizabeth says:

    This is great! Would love for you to grab our button and join our new weekly “Tuesday Talk” link-party that just went live!
    Elizabeth
    http://www.allkindsofthingsblog.com

Leave a Reply

