Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

Friday Favorites: {Weird} Christmas Traditions

on January 2, 2015

Linking up once again for Friday Favorites.

FridayFavorites3_zpsea6fc451

Now I know a lot has happened since Christmas and I hope to catch up on that stuff soon.  Today I want to mention some of our family traditions.  Every family does things differently, and we are definitely different.  Here are a few favorite, unique {Read: Weird} traditions.

Favorite #1 Weird traditions- The Pickle

The Christmas Pickle

The Christmas Pickle

In my family, every year my brother and I “compete” to find the hidden pickle ornament in the tree.  (I use the word compete loosely.  The bro always wins).  This is not necessarily all that weird.  The pickle might have a german origin.  Nevertheless, my dad hides it.  We look for it.  Its not as easy as you might think.  I am not competitive in nature so I normally get bored and give up until Brad finds it.  The winner is suppose to receive a special present… But my parents always get something for both.  So my motivation is not all that high.  We are all winners 🙂

IMG_2224 IMG_2225 IMG_2226IMG_2227

Favorite #2- Stockings

My Dad always gets a pint of his favorite ice cream{Baskin Robin’s Chocolate Peanut Butter}, and the brother and I always get a pen and a flashlight in our stockings.  Its the little things you can count on.

Also things like gift cards, Chapstick, candies, and some sort of fruit always make an appearance.

Our stockings were hand made by a family friend, and I love them!  They are the prettiest stockings I have ever seen.

IMG_2223

Favorite #3- Snow Ball fights!

On my dad’s side, we cap off the gifts with a huge wrapping paper fight.   You know its a family favorite when my 80 year old grandma gets in on the action.  It can get dangerous….  You have to be on top of your wrapping paper ball game.  The key is to hoard as much of the paper as possible, and make alliances well.  You do not want to get on the receiving end of my older cousin or my uncle.  They show now mercy.

Favorite #4 Gift tags

I have no idea when this began… but in some of the late night Christmas Eve wrapping sessions my dad decided he needed something to keep him awake.  So he started to get creative with the {To: and From: } sections.  It started off harmless with Frosty and Mrs. Clause getting in on the party.  But as the years go by and my dad continues to one up himself I have begun getting presents from some very random places.  Some make no sense. Some are inside jokes.  Many need deciphering as presents are handed out.  But we get a lot of laughs out of it.  These silly tags are one of my favorite things about Christmas morning.

IMG_2188 IMG_2191IMG_2193 IMG_2196IMG_2199 IMG_2200 IMG_2202IMG_2206

Favorite #5 – Movie Night

Following Christmas Eve, my immediate family take some time away to go to a late night movie.  This is seriously one of the things I look forward to most.  Many families go to movies together on Christmas day, but we enjoy the less crowded Christmas Eve.

This year we saw Annie. I don’t care what the critics say…. I loved it!!  Like really loved!  I’m a musical type of girl.

Annie

**Bonus:  I heard 2 really impactful quotes this year from local pastors that I wanted to share

  • “I more than celebrating the Baby Jesus, that we will celebrate the Savior that the baby would become.” Tracy Smith, First Baptist Church of Mt. Zion
  • “The good news which brings great joy: God loves sinners- true, deep, abiding affection for those who haven’t loved him back.”

Amen!  I pray that in the fun of the Holidays, our joy will be firmly planted in the knowledge of our Savior.

What are some weird traditions your family has this time of year?

Leave a Reply

