Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

Never too cool for Christmas

on December 17, 2014

Its only 8 days to Christmas!  I can’t believe how quickly it is going by.  I will admit I am not a “Christmas Person”.  Not that I don’t enjoy Christmas, but I am not ALL about it, ya know?  You know the people I am talking about.

I enjoy the coziness of the season… and I am hugely appreciative that my roommates thought to put up the lights in our small apartment.  I enjoy excuses to celebrate with friends, and Christmas cookies, and buying gifts for people.  But I don’t have to flood my house with decorations, watch every Christmas movie around, and play Christmas music 24/7.  (Confession:  I haven’t even watched Elf this year!)

To be honest, I am not a fan of Christmas music in general.  Maybe some of the old classy stuff I don’t mind having in the background.  And I am a sucker for these classics

But the second the worship band at church starts playing ‘Hark the Herald Angels Sing’ I check out.  It’s not something I am proud of but I just don’t appreciate the music.  Mostly I think it is because it has been so overplayed and overused that I have lost all sense of the meaning.

This is my overall feeling about Christmas sometimes.  I lose perspective on the reason we celebrate because I just have let myself been flooded with everything else going on this time of year.

But on Sunday I really listened to the words… And when we got to the last verse I was floored with the truth hidden deeply in the lyrics

Hail the heav’n-born Prince of Peace!
Hail the Son of Righteousness!
Light and life to all He brings
Ris’n with healing in His wings
Mild He lays His glory by
Born that man no more may die
Born to raise the sons of earth
Born to give them second birth
Hark! The herald angels sing
“Glory to the newborn King!”

That is the reason for the season.  If you are not moved by the idea of the son of God coming as a cute little baby, think about the reason that He came.  Think of what He was to do, for us.  Its not about a precious birth, but about a beautiful sacrifice.  Think of where He came from and all that He left.

He did not come to have fun here on earth.  His focus was not this earth at all.  I get so caught up with here and now.  Worrying about making the most of this life.  Christ came so that we can enjoy eternity.  And He was the only one with a clear view of what that is like.  He was so compelled by the desire to spend eternity with us, He sacrificed it to come here.

He did not come so that we can give each other presents, although I am sure that He thoroughly enjoys watching us share love with each other through the gift of giving in His name.  (He is the ultimate gift giver after all, and does love a party!)  But He came so the we can celebrate with Him for eternity.  It makes our Christmas celebrations look about as fun as taking the GRE.

The Angels celebrated on the day of His birth, not as much because He was born, but because He was going to die.  Die so that we can enter eternity with Him.

So if your stressed out about making this Christmas season perfect and cozy and everything everyone wants it to be.  Relax!  And remember the best is yet to come.

What a humbling and beautiful reminder for me… especially when I wanted to believe I was too cool for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

