Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

Friday Favorites: Media edition

on December 12, 2014

Linking up again with these fun ladies: Andrea, Erika, and Narci

FridayFavorites3_zpsea6fc451

During the Holidays, I get some much needed time to indulge in a lot of movie watching.  There are so many good movies to check out, and my family loves to watch movies together.  Its just fun to wind down at the end of the day with a good movie and some fun people all together in the same room.

I have already got to see some fun ones this season so I thought I would make a shout out to some of  my faves.

Disclaimer:  I am not really a movie buff.  I enjoy movies, but I am not an expert on what makes a good movie.  As long as I am entertained, its good in my book.

Favorite #1: Mocking Jay

MockingJay

Such a great movie.  It made it better that I got to see it with my whole staff team during a Cru Conference.  (See my about me page for more info.)  We made sure to all buy our tickets ahead of time so that we could sit together.

I will be the first to admit that the 3rd book was not my favorite of the series, and I was skeptical when I heard that they made it into 2 movies.  But I was pleasantly surprised.  I really enjoyed it.  I am a Jennifer Lawrence fan.

Favorite #2: The Giver

The Giver Film Adaptation 2014

This was a top fave!  Many people I talked to said that they had read the book in middle school, but I missed that some how.  I did not know what to expect, but it was a really intriguing plot with a good cast.  I found it very enjoyable and family friendly.  It seemed to me like a cross between Hunger Games, and V for Vendetta. Although I might not rely on that description.  Just see it for yourself.

Favorite #3: Big Hero 6

big-hero-6-movie-shared

So cute!!  A great movie for a family.  My boyfriend and I went to see it on a date and were very happy with our choice. So it is actually good for all ages.  It was such a different kids movie than any of the other ones I have seen.  It was endearing and not predictable.  Plus I definitely laughed out loud, “awwwwww-ed”, and teared up over the course of the movie.  2 thumbs up!

My all time favorite Holiday movies:

I’ll Be Home for Christmas (family favorite- Who doesn’t love Jonathan Taylor Thomas? Home Improvement throw back)

I'll be Home for Christmas

The Santa Claus (again, I miss Tim “the Tool Man” Taylor!)

The_Santa_Clause

And… The Holiday

the Holiday

I know its not actually about Christmas, but it is a great movie… and it happens during Christmas so it counts!

More movies I am looking forward to:

  • Pitch Perfect 2
  • The Hobbit
  • Annie
  • Into the Woods
  • Cinderella
  • Fox Catcher

What movies do love during that Holidays?!

One response to “Friday Favorites: Media edition

  1. Pinky says:

    Oh my goodness, Big Hero 6 was soooo good. Better than i expected and so cute. I cried, twice!

Leave a Reply

