Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

Who wants to Celebrate?!

on December 2, 2014

There is beauty in celebrating.  After a break for Thanksgiving with my family, I feel like I need to come back and hit these last 2 weeks hard before the semester is over.  Like I should make up for the break by putting in some hard time.  Since my job does not look like other people’s 9 to 5 job, and I actually do get some time off for Christmas break, I feel the need to make up for it in some way.

So when my boss told me that this week needs to be set aside for celebrating the semester, I did not know what to think.  But how does celebrating fit with working hard.  How can I justify a job where I am supposed to ‘celebrate’ when other people have serious deadlines and stress?

But there is beauty and worth in celebration.  There is legitimacy to working hard and celebrating what God has done.

It reminds me what we are working for.  It reminds us that God is not some dictator or overbearing boss, only concerned with His annual progress reports.

He is loving and joyful.  He celebrates with us.  He desires us to be at rest.  For us to find enjoyment in what we do, and in what He does for us.  Because ultimately its all about Him.  The goal is worship.

He does not want us to be overworked and exhausted.  Because that would mean we are trying hard all on our own.  He wants to accomplish His work in us.  He wants to give us strength and motivation.  He is the source of all good things.

That does not mean that everything will be easy.  Or that we will not have to go through hard things.  Or that we are suppose to sit on our bums and ‘celebrate’ instead of going about His business.  The Bible uses words like persevere, endure, and strain for a reason.  There will be hard work.  There might be long hours on occasion.  But there is purpose.

We celebrate special things.  So our celebrations should be in what He has done.  So sometimes that means putting in a lot of work, or not seeing results for a long time.  Sometimes that means doing things that you do not want to do.  But you are always doing it with Him.  Not everything will seem like it is worth the celebration at the end.  Sometimes you will wonder if there will ever be anything worth celebrating. Even then God is at work… do not doubt that.

But God promises that ‘everything works together for our good and His glory.’

He promises that we will ‘see His goodness in the Land of the living.’

He promises that everything will be beautiful in its time.

So we celebrate.  Because God is worth celebrating.

We celebrate because God is at work, and He lets us be a part of it.

We celebrate because Heaven celebrates.

We celebrate, not to stroke God’s ego, but sometimes just to remind us of who He is and what He is doing.  The celebrations are for us.  They are a gift.  And the gift is God himself.

It is just a glimpse of what we have waiting for us one day in Christ, if we know Him as our personal Lord and Savior.

So this week, I will work hard and end well.  I will listen to the Sprit.  I will seek strength and wisdom.

And I will celebrate!

Thanks goodness for God’s economy.  Input does not equal output.  If we invest what little we have to offer, God multiplies it and the eternal reward is huge.  Not just for us, but for the people that the Lord touches through us.  That is worth celebrating.

2 responses to “Who wants to Celebrate?!

  1. […] season, our Lord Jesus.  I blogged earlier this week about how I am learning to really appreciate celebrations.  I just want to take the time to really appreciate […]

  2. […] get me wrong… I firmly believe that God loves a good celebration.  He wants us to enjoy the gifts He gave us.  Family is a blessing to be cherished. Financial […]

Leave a Reply

