Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

Friday Favorites: Oldies but Goodies

on November 28, 2014

I really love this Friday Favorites idea… Linking up again with Andrea, Erika, and Narci this week.

Yesterday, I blogged a few of my thoughts on Thanksgiving.  I hope that it was a restful day to reflect and reconnect with family.  My family gatherings were smaller this year, but still a nice way to catch up since I am not able to be home often anymore.

FridayFavorites3_zpsea6fc451

Seeing as it is now officially Black Friday, my first favorite is a little unique.  Definitely a different spin on Black Friday.

Favorite #1

Goodwill

Goodwill located near you

Goodwill located near you

Seriously though… I have friends who can goodwill like its their job. And they look fabulous!!  I got hooked a couple months ago.  The last Friday of every month all clothes are $1.23.  EVERYTHING!

You have to get there early, and be patient while looking.  If you want to get really strategic you can case the nearby stores as well.  Sometimes the more well off cities have high quality clothes.  My first time, I got 7 sweaters and 1 fabulous pair of kelly green pants for $9.  Some even still had the tags.

Their 1.23 sale just happens to fall on Black Friday, so I would suggest taking a risk and giving it a shot.  It could turn out really well 🙂

I have been convicted of the surplus in our country as well as my tendency to ‘need’ the newest ‘In’ things.  Why by new when second hand *could be* just as cute and affordable.  My goal is to conserve and by second hand as much as possible for this new season.  Call it a personal challenge!

Here are a few of my finds:

Kelly Green Skinny jeans and a loose black shrug

Kelly Green Skinny jeans and a loose black shrug

Brand new Sonoma sweater with tags and American Eagle Skinny jeans

Brand new Sonoma sweater with tags and American Eagle Skinny jeans

American Easle Skinnies #2 and a Mustard yellow sweater from Holister that I wore on Thanksgiving

American Easle Skinnies #2 and a Mustard yellow sweater from Holister that I wore on Thanksgiving

Favorite #2

Pumpkin Spice and Everything nice

Pumpkin Spice and Everything nice

I was browsing thru Kroger the other day (one of the stores I miss from my home town) and I saw that their Kcups were on sale.  So I picked up some Pumpkin Spice.  Perfect for the season.  I have already blogged about my love of the Keurig.  So much that I packed it with me and drove it the 3 hours to my parents house.

Also, it made it even sweeter to use this mug on Thanksgiving morning.  I missed my Harvest DeKalb church family over the past week.  I was celebrating them in spirit as I drank my coffee 🙂

IMG_2025

(If you are looking for a great church, I would check out a Harvest churn near you.  Solid biblical teaching, and a focus on grace, truth, and the Gospel.)

Favorite #3

Hand Turkeys... Reminiscent of 2nd Grade :)

Hand Turkeys… Reminiscent of 2nd Grade 🙂

My yearly Hand Turkey, made possibly with my Epic 120 pack of Crayola Crayons.  Some traditions need to be carried on.

So many colors!

So many colors! A gift on my 23 birthday… only for special occasions.

Admittedly, I am 26 and the only person in my family that still makes them.  But what better to do while you drink you coffee and watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade.

Favorite #4

Fireplaces that are warm and cozy.  Perfect for reading and sipping coffee.  They just make everything more inviting.  I especially love that I can enjoy my favorite one this Holiday in my parents house.  Its not winter until I can worm up by a fireplace.

Warming up by the fire

Warming up by the fire

Hope you all get to continue celebrating this weekend!  Happy Thanksgiving weekend!!

Leave a Reply

