Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

Thankful for the Mess

on November 27, 2014

It’s Thanksgiving again.  Honestly I tend not to be a sentimental person.  I deal with life at the moment, or worry about the future.  But once the past is past I don’t pay it much attention.  Which is so sad.

Not that I need to dwell in the past, or have regrets.  But without seeing the things that have been, how can I have a good perspective for the future.

“Keep your eyes on things above.” (Col 3:2) So then when you do look back, it is in perspective of the Father.

Everything is part of the story.  The hard, the silly, the happy… They are all apart of the beautiful.  It all flows together tangling up and becoming indistinguishable from the rest.  And in those moments, when all you see is the mess, you either get an overwhelming sense of joy and peace, or of sadness, guilt, and frustration.

Please let the hope win out.  Pray that the bad will sink to the bottom and be drowned by the wonderful.

Wonderful does not just mean the times you were smiling.  Nor the times where everything is going you way. Because honestly when is that?!

Wonderful is the hugs through the tears.  Blessing after months of waiting.  A friend in the midst of tragedy.

It is a sunny day (even if it is below freezing).  A canceled appointment when you think you might literally go crazy.  It is a painful, but loving, rebuke from one you love.

The wonderful and beautiful comes in different forms.  But God wants us to see it.  He wants us to agree with Him that it is all beautiful.  Because who defines wonderful except for God.

This year I am thankful for many things.

A family that has supported me and encouraged me

An adopted family when mine is 3 hours away.

Answered prayers

Renewed friendship with those that I had gave up on

Beautiful students who are seeking the Lord

A staff team that I thoroughly enjoy

God’s provision in housing, a car for my boyfriend, and so many other things.

Fun adventures

Supporters who sacrificially support me in prayer and finances.

Thankful for hope, patience, and mercy

Mostly I am thankful for a deeper view of my dependence on God.  The deeper into the year I get, the more I realize that I am a sinner with more junk than I could ever have imagined (mostly stemming from my previous assumption that I do not have much sin at all).

But this Tim Keller quote says it all.

“We are more wicked than we ever dared believe, but more loved and accepted in Christ than we ever dared hope– at the very same time.”

Praise the Lord.

One response to “Thankful for the Mess

Leave a Reply

