Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

For the Namesake

on November 18, 2014

Beauty in Brokenness

Seriously… what?!

To be weak is failure.  To be weak is an inconvenience.  To be weak is a burden.

But lets be honest.  We are weak.  Fragile. Finite.

I have no control.

There are days where I feel helpless.  Not enough time, not enough of me to go around.  There is always someone I am failing, even if it is just in my own head.

I don’t see victories as victories, just one step closer to accomplishing what is impossible.  If that doesn’t make you feel hopeless then nothing will.  One drop in the ocean, and I make it my responsibility to fill the whole thing.

The realization of my weakness makes me weak.  A downward spiral of helplessness.

But in those moments of clarity, I am revelling in my weakness.  That the God of the universe wants to reach down and pick me up… Not just so that I can get back to work, but to give me a hug, wipe my tears, listen to my worries, and point me back in the direction of His leading.

“Look around,” He says.  “While you were trying to save the world, plan everything perfectly, and be everything to everyone…. I did it for you.  While you were fretting about how it would never get done, I did it.”

“Sit at my table.  Take a load off.  Enjoy my feast with me.  It will refuel you for what’s next.”

To know that He knows the desires of our hearts before we do, and that He has already set in motion a plan to fulfill them is mind blowing.  Who am I??

Hebrews 4:16 “Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

There is no condemnation.  No signs of frustration.  No strings attached.

He loves our weakness.  He is looking for a way to prove His strength.  Not to shame us but to strengthen us as well.

Leave a Reply

