Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

Pumpkin Spice and everything Nice

on October 25, 2014

There are seasons that just make you happy.  What is it about fall that gets everyone all excited?

Crisp air

Beautiful leaves

Football (…I guess)

And of course… The pumpkin 🙂

 

Not really even sure what it is about it that makes everyone get all excited.  But most people just can’t get enough.

Every Thursday is our weekly meeting for Cru.  It starts at 9 pm, and ends up being a late night.  Therefore, every Friday our team takes turns making brunch and we plan and evaluate over a yummy breakfast.  It was time for pumpkin to make an appearance.

This week, I made a baked pumpkin pancake with a yummy pumpkin syrup.  It is like a pancake but made almost cakelike in a 9×13 in. pan.

It was a hit!  I will say that the pumpkin syrup in a must… the pancake was good by itself, but not too sweet.  The syrup added a good punch of flavor.

Two observations I would make:  I used regular oats instead of quick cooking.  I did not use the not about putting them through the food processor, because we do not have one.  BUt i microwaved them in a little bit of water just to get the cooking process started.  It worked fine.  Also the note about the mixture being completely cool before adding the eggs is no joke!  I let it cool while I showered and the eggs still got a little scrambled.

You can find the recipe here.

 

So here are some wonderful ways to celebrate the Pumpkin… I mean Fall… Season

 

Pumpkin Fluff:

I can of pumpkin, I tub of cool whip (light for a little healthier of an option) 1 small package of instant vanilla pudding, and a little pumpkin pie spice.

Mix and enjoy!  So refreshing

 

Easy Pumpkin muffins:

I can of Pumpkin, I box of cake mix (yellow or spice), I egg (optional)

Bake in muffin tins

 

Pumpkin pasta:

savory dish… The pumpkin gives the sauce a cheesy, creamy texture.

I lb. of pasta, pumpkin, beef broth, onion, spinach, sausage (optional), some spices

So yummy!

Pumpkin Painting:

If you want to try a different way of decorating pumpkins, I suggest painting instead of craving.  It’s less messy (in theory) and safer for little kids

The most unique I have seen is Ultimate Pumpkin:

This is not for the faint of heart.  Actually, I was introduced to this by a teammate that previously had military experience.  But if you are looking for a fun after Thanksgiving activity, and don’t mind getting messy or possibly injured… I highly recommend it.

Basically, it is ultimate frisbee with a pumpkin.  That is covered in crisco or butter.  As the pumpkin gets thrown around it will break, but that’s ok.  Just pick up the biggest piece and keep going.  This is great male bonding activity as well.  Give it a try if you are brave!

Leave a Reply

