Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

Unplanned Adventures

on October 16, 2014

So a few weeks ago, I had a random Monday and Tuesday off of work.  We worked all weekend at a retreat so it was a much needed break.  But as some of you know, I am a planner.  Even my relaxation is planned.  Filled with errands and cleaning.  I ended my 2 days off more tired than when I started and not super refreshed for the next week.  My goal is to learn what rest is…  Somewhere in between catching up on what didn’t get done in the busyness and binge watching netflix until you feel like a complete bum.

Geneva, IL

Geneva, IL

However, I have come to realize that doing can be just as restful as not doing.  On that Monday, we decided to have an adventure.  We being my boyfriend, who has Mondays off of work, and I.  I wanted to embrace the everything of fall.  Between our favorite coffee shop, an apple orchard, lunch and another coffee shop in a nearby town, and finishing off with a homemade apple crisp… I had it all planned perfectly.  The perfect fall day 🙂

IMG_1572

Well, a continual lesson is my life is that things don’t go as planned.  I can’t control literally anything.  As much as I desperately try to.  But most of the time if I can just let go of my own expectations, I realize that the alternative can be just as good if not better.

After our wonderful coffee at Mudslingers, a tiny little coffee and donut shop in Sycamore, we headed to the Apple Orchard.  Mudslingers in locally owned and roast their own flavored coffees.  Seriously some of the best coffee I have ever had.  And their mini donuts, slingers, are wonderful.

While Apple Orchards have hours that are open all week (we checked several times), apparently you can often only pick apples on the weekends.  So confusing!

So then we realized we needed a plan B.

In a rare mood, I was completely flexible and just enjoyed going with the flow.  Joshi and I got to walk around at some fun shops in Geneva, IL.  And then picked up lunch and drove to a nearby forest preserve.  I had been there years ago for a girls outing and thought we could give it a shot.

The park is called Fabyan Windmill forest preserve.  It was BEAutiful.  Perfect weather for exploring and a nap on the grass.  Seriously so relaxing.  How can you not be relaxed in nature.

Then onto Arcedium Coffee house in St. Charles.  This place is so great!  Ask anyone in the area and it is a must stop.  I had a Dirty Chai Pumpkin Latte.  My first pumpkin drink of the season.  (Chai Latte with a shot of Espresso and Pumpkin) What a great way to celebrate fall!

Arcedium Coffee House-Dirty Chai Pumpkin Latte

Arcedium Coffee House-Dirty Chai Pumpkin Latte

Then we picked up some apples and dinner supplies at the Blue Goose Market.  My aunt’s family owns this quaint little market and the produce is really quality, as well as their meat.

We got our Apple Crisp after all!

IMG_1573

I love exploring… This is such a great area with so many fun things to do.  To explore with someone you love makes it even better.  I am so happy that we got to have our perfect fall day together, even if it was completely spontaneous!  Those are the best days 🙂

Leave a Reply

