Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

What I Read: A Perfect Mess by Lisa Harper

on May 28, 2014

This one has been sitting on my shelf since last summer.  I have been meaning to dig into it, but sometimes life does not allow it.  Seriously, I have been made fun of a lot lately because of the state of my shoulder bag that I carry with me to work (and to the coffee shop…. and the store…and on long car rides) A girl’s got to be prepared!

013

I purchased this book at the National Staff Conference in Colorado last summer.  The author Lisa spoke during one of the main sessions and I immediately went to the bookstore outside and purchased 2 of her books.  (That is practicing restraint for you)

She also spoke at our Winter Conference for students this year, and many of the girls I work with bought her whole collection.

a perfect messlisa harper

One thing I noticed as I was reading is that she writes exactly like she talks.  This woman is so entertaining and down to earth.  She really tells it like it is.  So much that it takes a few minutes to realize that she also just defined and explained a tricky Greek/Hebrew concept in the midst of telling a story about getting chased by a bull at the age of 8.  She is highly educated and knowledgeable in the scriptures, but translates these concepts into real life, Gospel centered application.

She is not your prim and proper southern belle.  She is real and gritty and tells it like it is.  So when she explains what it looks like to be a perfect mess, you actually want to listen.  Lisa is relatable and funny without ever taking her eyes of Christ.

Through out the book are little snippets and side notes that explain more about the historical context of the passages she is talking about to give more insight.

This book itself goes through David’s Psalms.  Not all of them are covered, but she gives a good snapshot of the messiness of biblical characters and how Christ redeems that.

I very much enjoyed this book.  And I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a fresh perspective on Biblical truths with a lot of application.  As well as a lot of entertainment on the side 🙂

 

I referenced this book previously here.


To purchase it you can visit here.

Leave a Reply

