Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

My Agenda of Rest

on May 20, 2014

Since the semester is now over, I have a few days to rest and recover before heading out to Chicago for my summer placement.  (Got a long journey ahead of me to get there, lol)

Being without a schedule and expectations has left me realizing that I am relaxation impaired.

Even on my “off time”, I have a mental list of all the things I want to get done.

Who in the world besides me actually schedules their down time?

So my goal in the next week is to learn how to rest.  I have been working at it for about 26 years now, so it might be a slow process.

 

In the past year, I have read 2 books with entire chapters devoted to the need for physical rest.  I think it is speaking directly to me.

(Humility by CJ Mahaney and A Perfect Mess by Lisa Harper)

In college, many people wear sleep deprivation as a badge of honor.  Seriously for a month in college, my friends thought it would be a good idea to give up sleep.  Graduation was approaching and we did not want to miss out!  And you aren’t cool if you go to bed before 2 AM.  (even if you are cranky and miserable… its the principle of the thing)

I have an internal perspective that I can’t sleep until I am literally falling over tired, because there is just too much to get done  in a day.  For a summer in college, I participated in a 10 week mission project.  During that time, my new roommate spoke some very good wisdom to me.  After a few weeks of watching me be the first one up and the last one to sleep, she sat me down and said, “Brittany, sleep is God’s proof to us that we need Him.”

I had never thought of that before.  I do not sleep because I think that there is too much to be done.  I am not trusting that while I sleep, God is still in control.  I am also not trusting that in God’s grace everything that I need to get done will be done.

Our need for sleep is God’s way of showing us we are limited.  He is infinite.  He watches over us while we sleep.  The world keeps turning.  We keep breathing.  The universe continues on as normal.  It doesn’t need us.  It really doesn’t even notice that we are asleep.  It’s not like we lay our head down on the pillow, and chaos breaks out.  The sun is not waiting for us to tell it to come back up again.

 

No one faults a baby for sleeping.  We know they need it to grow.  It makes me happy to see a sleeping baby.  And they sleep knowing and trusting that their mom and dad will take care of them while they are dreaming.  They are completely dependent, and also completely trusting.

We are dependent on God in the same way.  And just like parents, He is happy to watch us sleep.  He loves to watch over us and take care of us, while we rest in Him.  It is the ultimate sign of trust and faith.

My desire is to grow an attitude of childlike faith even in my waking hours.  The world does not revolve around me.  I am not holding it together.  I want to be faithful with what the Lord trusts to me, and then leave the rest to Him knowing that He will take care of it.  We are not made to orchestrate the entirety of our lives.  We are supposed to walk a straight path and take the situations that God puts in front of us as they come.  One thing at a time, giving the results to the Lord.  Not fretting or manipulating or strategizing.

I can’t see the big picture.  I can only see what is right in front of me.  So I will keep my eyes to the Heavens, trusting in the One who can see it all.  Knowing He has it covered.

One response to “My Agenda of Rest

Leave a Reply

