Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

Family in the Making

on September 11, 2013

Yesterday was a day that we have waited for quite awhile in my family.  And it was well worth the wait! I got to meet the two newest additions for my family. My Uncle and Aunt have been in the process of adoption for a few years (too many years if you ask us)  They are finally home as a family 🙂

Abebech and Destaw are from Ethiopia.  Abi is 9 and Destaw is 7.  English isn’t their first language, but between the words that they do know, and a lot of pointing and hand gestures we get by.  Honestly their were times that I forgot that they really didn’t know most of what I was saying.  They are such smart kiddos.

The whole gang arrived home on Sunday from their 2 weeks in Ethiopia.  2 weeks in a third world country with 2 new children who are already independent was an experience, but I feel like it was a good time for them to bond with their parents in a place that was semi familiar to them before they experience the whole new world of America.

Talk about Culture shock,… New parents, new language, new food, home, and way of life.  That had to be overwhelming but they both took it in stride.

Now that I have officially moved, I live only 30 minutes away instead of the 3 hours that the rest of the family lives.  Brad and I decided to visit after letting them get settled a few days.

Not to get too excited, buuuuttttt we were the first visitors they met!  Score!  Just making sure I keep my good neice status.

Before leaving, I had bought a few gifts for them.  They are older, but with their language barrier and all the new things they have to adjust to I stuck with Chutes and ladders and Children’s sequence (along with some Play Doh much to my aunt’s dismay)  They had bright colors and pictures.  The instructions are fairly easy and there weren’t that many words to have to explain.  They seemed to like it a lot.

My biggest dilema was buying a card.  There really isn’t a category of this kind of thing.

“Welcome to the family.”  ‘Welcome to America.” “Cousin adoption”

Hallmark hasn’t really taken an interest in this area yet, lol. It was  such a special day.

I was kinda nervous… I really wanted them to like me.  It seems silly, but I wanted to make a good impression.  I have a really good talent of saying really awkward things when I do not know what to do.

But when I walked in the door, they both gave me a shy hug and said hello.  Abi took me by the hand and showed me her room.  She opened every drawer, pointing out all her belonging (old and new).  She repeated all the names to me in English.  I was able to help her with the ones that she couldn’t remember.  It was fun being able to see her new home through her eyes.

We had a meal together, and my aunt told us stories of their trip.  She also told us stories of all the new experiences the kids had already.  New food, new playmates, and new toys.  They all seemed to be having a great time together.  The kids were a little shy at first but as we played Chutes and ladders after dinner they loosened up and began laughing, teasing each other, and taking turns moving their pieces around the board.  It was so fun.

The high light of the evening was taking them for their first ice cream.

Seriously, a momentous occasion!  And it seems very fitting that I was there to witness it.  Ice cream is kinda my thing.

They loved their chocolate and vanilla ice cream cones.  They figured out how to lick it instead of biting it.  Abi also learned that if you take to big of a bit you get a head rush.  We had to show them how to eat the cone part as well.  So many little things that we take forgranted.  These new experiences are so precious to witness.

More than anything, it is a blessing to see God‘s hand in this whole situation.  A family is being formed.  hearts are being softened.

I couldn’t help but be reminded of the verse in Psalms 68:6 “God sets the lonely in families, he leads out the prisoners with singing.”

The process of adoption is one of hope and frustration.  It is a process of waiting and praying.  The unknown of it is enough to deter most people.  But to see the end result, it is a beautiful thing.  It is wonderful to be reminded that the Lord does not make us wait in vain.  he does not forget us.  He is complete control.

Although the waiting is painful, the end result makes it all worth it.  If we are faithful and patient to wait, God answers our prayers fully.  And when we do not have the patience or the faith to wait, He is our patience.

Sometimes situations we face that seem frustrating, are actually God keeping us from rushing ahead of his perfect plan.  It is so counter thinking to realize that frustration from an eternal perspective is always our sinful response to the Lord’s perfect timing.  And the frustrating circumstances are God’s grace.  He is not letting us settle for what is ok, when He has what is great waiting down the road.

So I am excited to get to know my new family.  I am praying that God will allow me to love them with His love.  I am also praying that they will grow to see Him and love Him with all their heart.

He makes all things beautiful in His time…. Ecclesiates 3:11

Leave a Reply

