Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

Beauty and Bob Ross

on June 7, 2013

Ecclesiastes is not a very uplifting book at times, depending on how you read it.  But a passage that I really value is Ecclesiastes 3.  Honestly, it was part of the inspiration for my tattoo.

ImageYep, I got a tattoo… for everyone out there that thought I was all talk!  My mama wasn’t happy.  Neither was my grandma. But all my friends were relieved, because that means I finally would stop obsessing talking about it.

Aaaannnnyway… There are 2 inspirations.  The first being Romans 10:15 “Beautiful are the hands and feet that bring good news.”  This will be a constant reminder that the Good news of the Gospel should be my top priority in life.  For myself and others.

But the second is Ecclesiastes 3:11 “He has made everything beautiful in its time.”

There is hope in that.  God is redeeming everything.  He has a plan, and it is for our good.

But lately God has been unpacking another aspect of this verse for me.  That is the idea of time.  If everything happens in its time, that means that it will take time.  Duh, right?!  But honestly sometimes I need that reminder.

It is a process… There is beauty in the process.  He is not saying that the finished product is beautiful.  He says that it is becoming increasingly beautiful in its time.  That means that there is beauty now, and it will just continue to to grow and deepen as God molds and shapes our life experience.

We need to enjoy the process.  It reminds me of when I was younger and I would watch the Bob Ross show on PBS.  It was so weird, but for some reason once I started watching I could not stop.  How one man with such a monotone voice could mesmerize a 7 years old, I have no idea.  But it worked.

Just a side note to all you moms out there that are looking for a way to get your kids to calm down and sit still for a minute, try Bob Ross.  I have heard Sponge Bob square pants has the same effect, but that is exceedingly more nerve wrecking and brain rotting in my humble opinion.  If I hear that annoying laugh one more time…….

But I was fascinated in watching that man take a blank canvas and a flat brush and seeing how he made it into beautiful nature scenes.  I think I enjoyed watching him paint it more than I actually like the pictures.

That is kind of how our life works.  God is the painter.  He starts with us and is continually making us into the picture that we will one day be.  He is painting us into a work of art, stroke by stroke, color by color.  But the difference here is that the end product will be more than we can ever imagine…

At the age of 25, my canvas is probably still pretty neat and clean.  (thanks to the saving blood of Jesus that washed it white as snow… but that is a whole other topic all together).I have not even scratched the surface of what God will do in my life.

It helps to be reminded of that at times.

2 Thessalonians 3:13 says “Do not grow weary in doing good.”  That means that there is a lot of life ahead.  We will get tired.  We will get weary.  We will get frustrated and impatient.  But the end is coming.  We will be delivered, and it will be worth every second.  The result will be beautiful.  And if we continue to look at our life’s current situation in light of Jesus and His redeeming work, we will see the beauty in it right now.  Its a wonderful story of grace.  But no great work of art is made with perfect lines and angles.  No book is good without conflict and suffering.  Its all part of the beauty.

Beauty does not come in perfection.  It comes in redemption.

Part of what I have been learning lately is 1 Peter 5:6 “Humble yourself, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so at the proper time He can exalt you.”

How can God write our story or paint our picture with out us submitting our selves to Him.  that involves submitting ourselves to His refining process.   In our youth we want everything to happen now.  It’s hard to see the point of waiting on things when we are ready to go.  But the reality is that if we were really ready, then God would let us do the things that we desire to do.  Because He is not a God to deprive us of what our heart wants (if we our submitted to Him).  So really there is a point in waiting.  But we aren’t God.  We don’t see the big picture.  So we wait.  But we wait in the Lord with the hope and assurance that He will do what He promies.  He will make everything beautiful in its time.

Praise the Lord that we serve a beautiful God.  How can He produce anything that is not equally beautiful.

Lord, I want to let you define the beauty in my life.  I want His beauty in my life to be poured out for others and not kept for me alone.  Let me share your beauty and in the same way experience it more and more.

Leave a Reply

