Beauty in Brokenness

"He has made everything Beautiful in it's time." Eccl. 3:11

The blessing of Strangers

on April 18, 2013

Today, I was sitting in a coffee shop working.  I was making phone calls and sending emails and all sorts of other stuff.  I had been there for a few hours, and probably should have stayed for a few more.  However, I decided for the sake of my sanity I would head home.

Just as I was putting away my lap top, I caught a bit of the conversation the 2 ladies next to me were having.  Unfortunately, people watching and eavesdropping are 2 of my favorite pastimes.  I know that it is technically not socially acceptable, but lets be honest people… you know you do it too.

The 2 ladies turned out to be mother and daughter.  The daughter was mentioning that she was going to be participating in the “Great Awakening” conference soon.  Now I have never done one of these conferences, and I am not exactly sure what it entails.  It is a retreat that some friends of mine have participated in before.  From the way they talk, it is a wonderful time to get away and be with the Lord.

After a few discouraging phone calls, it was really exciting to find out there were fellow Christians nearby. I am typically the type of person that keeps to myself.  A polite nod or hello and I am back to my own reading.  For better or worse, I do not really like having conversations with strangers in public.

Without having time to change my mind, I chimed in.  She told me that she was really excited to experience her first Christian retreat.  This was a woman who was my mom’s age at least.  She has been a self proclaimed Atheist since college.

She was so open in sharing with me, a nosy stranger, about how the Lord had captured her attention and relentlessly pursued her.  It was so cool to see her excitement in what Jesus had done for her.  Looking back she could see God’s hand on her life, even when she was blatantly denying His existence.

Just because we decide something is “true”, does not change who God is. Just because we decided God can’t do something, or we won’t let Him have His way in our lives, does not in anyway affect God’s ability to make it happen.  He is sovereign even in our rebellion and unbelief.  Nothing will stop God from being who He is.  and that is sovereign, powerful, just, loving, gracious, and merciful.

Christ changes people.  We can’t change ourselves, but Christ can… and does. He is real,  He is living and active.

Not just in church.

Not just as kids.

Not just in Cru.

Not just when you have kids.

Not just when you are pursuing Him.

Not just when you are being faithful. Always.

Thank you for saving sinners like me.  Thank you for broken but redeemed sisters in Christ.  Thank you for hope.

” But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

Leave a Reply

